Life sucks, but I hope my attitude doesn’t!

Hello all!

It’s been a crazy few days. I got back from an awesome and thoroughly exhausting Spring Break with my family and boyfriend, only to get dumped right back into the daily grind of school. Life has been rougher than usual, partly due to the fact that I haven’t had a bad week in a long time and partly because I’m on a hormonal roller coaster right now. I’m doing my best to be a rational human being during this trying time of month, but minor things keep frustrating me. Stupid little things like people walking very slowly in front of me, or Clark drumming the tips of his fingers on the wall. I normally would ignore these things, but the excess hormones combined with a stressful week make for a bad combination. I’m not trying to make excuses, though- I’m doing my best to keep my chin up and maintain my cool through the next few days. Having a period isn’t an excuse for being bitchy. It is, however, a great excuse for eating lots of chocolate, and I’ve been doing plenty of that. It helps. Maybe it’s a placebo, but I swear it helps! (Side note: Poor Clark. He’s wonderful, and even more so when I’m this irritable.)

And my ring- my first piece of jewelry I received from Clark- caught on a drawer not even half an hour ago, and the main stone, a pretty light blue topaz, popped out of its setting! I am quite upset. I’ve had that ring for over a year, and this is the first time that has happened. I found the topaz, though, and have the ring and topaz in a plastic bag. I’ll get it fixed soon, but I feel naked without it on, I’ve had it for so long.

1528001_10201088570992181_677715183_n

This is the broken ring (although in real life, the topaz is a lot lighter). Sigh. 😦

Another source of stress was arranging my class schedule for the Fall Semester. I have something called a 4 year plan, and it is all of the classes I need to take in order to graduate. They’re also in a loosely formatted schedule, and so I was expecting the actual arrangement to be a breeze, because I spent 6 hours last semester figuring out my 4 year plan. I hadn’t taken into account classes that are Spring Semester only, however, and it took forever to rearrange my 4 year plan in a way that would accommodate those classes (even with my adviser helping me). It was very frustrating, and I have a super busy Fall Semester in order to make it work. I have 16 credits, but 2 of those are early morning PE classes (Badminton and Soccer, which are fun, but early mornings! Ugh). That finishes off my remaining PE credits, so at least I don’t have to worry about those later. Two of the other credits are Theater and Music in curriculum, which won’t be hard but are time consuming. Then there are the other 12 credits, which are normal teaching and math courses. And then there are my two jobs. And my sanity. And I have a sweet boyfriend who wants to spend some time with me on occasion. And I have friends who also like to see me.

I already feel stressed about next year. Which means that I will take the rest of this blog post to list the things I’m fortunate for. I can’t let my stress and anxiety get me down about life. I’m thankful for Clark being so sweet all the time, but especially now. I’m thankful for placebo chocolate. I’m thankful that I was able to successfully rearrange my classes so that I still graduate in 2017 like I should. I’m thankful for my awesome adviser who eases my mind regularly. I’m thankful that I have two jobs to be busy with next year. I’m thankful that I go to college and have the ability to get good grades without putting forth much effort. I’m thankful I have jewelry in the first place, and I’m grateful I have the money to fix it properly. And I’m also very thankful that I have Oreo ice cream waiting in Clark’s fridge for after work. Last one: I’m super grateful that tomorrow is Good Friday, which means no school! I get to sleep in tomorrow 🙂

So, I’m trying to find the silver linings! See any that I didn’t pick up on? Go ahead and comment, I love to hear from you 🙂

Have a fantastic day! Rach

Leave a Reply

