Hanging In There

Hello!

I’m pleased to report that not only has Clark stopped sulking about his situation, but is actively searching for alternatives, including trying to talk his money savvy father into letting him take out a small loan (because even with the extra few thousand dollar load per year, Clark is getting an incredible deal with his education here). So he might be able to stay! Although I know not to get my hopes up too much, I’m still overjoyed, hopeful, and feeling a lot less stressed about everything, after having a test and major presentation yesterday. I’m glad that I managed to avoid an anxiety attack in the midst of the chaos this week. So life is looking up.

Now onto the next obstacle- Clark’s mother is going to be in town this weekend! It’s the first time I’ll meet her in person, and I hope she likes me. I always speak defiantly of his parents, and promise myself I’ll stick up for my beliefs, until I come face to face with them, and then I compromise a bit. It isn’t a bad thing, I’m glad that I feel the need to soften my extreme liberalism in the presence of his parents, I just don’t want to betray my dignity or causes either. I haven’t been pressed on anything, but when I am, I pray I will have the courage to stand my ground, even against my future in-laws. Human rights are not to be taken lightly, and I know it would take a while to forgive myself if I let them dictate my actions. I hope I can find a happy medium where I can politely state my beliefs and be accepted anyway.

I hope everyone is having a great Tuesday! Rachel

Leave a Reply

