Birthday Blessings

I have had quite a few negative things happen to me of late, and so I’d like to take some time to count my blessings. This is an exercise I use to help calm my anxiety, or when I am overwhelmed or upset. I’ll keep it brief, but I hope it uplifts your day as much as mine will be uplifted.

The first blessing that I would like to offer thanks for is my wonderful family. My parents are absolutely amazing, and despite our occasional differences, I wouldn’t replace them for the world. They have raised me with a curious mind, an open heart, and lots of compassion for others, and so I have them to thank for my activism and social justice advocacy. My sister is also super amazing. She and I had lunch today, and she was kind enough to allow me to purge myself of some remaining bitterness regarding my crazy in-laws. She validates me and encourages me regularly, and for that, I am extremely appreciative. My little brother is very smart and blunt, and I can always rely on him to tell me the truth. I have an amazing family, and I love them very much.

I am also thankful for my wonderful friends. They let me mother them, and they appreciate me for the flawed person that I am. Whenever I am down, they never hesitate to help me get back onto my feet. They cheer me up and make me laugh, and I love and appreciate them very much as well.

I am thankful for Clark, who is an amazingly attentive and sensitive man. He knows exactly what I need to hear to become inspired again, and gives the best hugs. Without his support, I may not have ever discovered my own sexuality, and I know I would not have been able to grow in confidence and inner strength. He encourages me to continue fighting for others’ rights, and validates me regularly. I appreciate and adore him.

I am thankful for the time I have spent here, and for my second chance. I never thought I would see my 20th birthday, and here it is coming up on me in just under 2 weeks. It is amazing to see how far I have come, and for that I can only thank God. I can’t possibly express how wonderful my life is, even fraught with small problems. I am alive, I have a place to live and food to eat, I go to college, I’m about to get a car, and I am surrounded by people who care about me. My heart is so full that I don’t have any space for complaining about petty things.

I have everything I would ever need, and so I also would like to extend thanks to the schools that I am volunteering at. Those kids teach me as much as I teach them, and I love to watch them learn and know that I helped. They are precious, and they teach me new life lessons daily.

I very much appreciate my readers as well. It makes me feel so good to know that people are interested in what I have to say, and that some of my work is thought provoking. Thank you for listening to a young girl’s ramblings! It has been so helpful to be able to come on here to you and receive so much support for what I do. I love you guys, I hope you know that!

I hope you have a wonderful day! I know I will- I already feel better. If you feel down, try this because it works miracles.

Rachel 🙂

Leave a Reply

